Former Chief Justice Gets Standing Ovation


The appointment of Mohan Peiris as Chief Justice (CJ), was challenged once again at the Bar Association’s h Annual Convocation

While the former Chief Justice Dr. Shirani Bandaranayake, who was controversially impeached earlier this year participated the current chief justice was not invited. .

Dr. Bandaranayake received a warm welcome with a standing ovation.

Many others including former President Chandrika Bandaranaike, opposition Parliamentarians Karu Jayasuriya and Lakshman Kiriella, together with Ven. Maduluwawe Sobihta Thero, and Ven. Dambara Amila Thero were also present.

Retired Supreme Court Judge Justice C. V Wigneswaran said the “so called impeachment was legally faulted”.

President of the BASL Upul Jayasuriya said that executive must not be allowed to extend its armed fist and tread  Hulsdorf , the symbol of freedom  with police boots.

Most members who were selected to the executive committee were lawyers who actively campaigned against the impeachment.

Observers said that the selection of a majority of anti impeachment lawyers signaled a strong message to the government of defiance by the legal profession.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s